Ulver - Themes From William Blake's The Marriage of Heaven and Hell - DOUBLE LP GATEFOLD COLOURED

This item is on pre-order. It will be available on 3 December 2021

Note : Orders cannot be split into several shipments. Your order will be dispatched when the item with the latest release date is available.

2021 remaster on red & white double vinyl
  • Description

    Having been known for their more folklore-tinged black metal compositions on early studio releases, in late 1997, main man Kristoffer Rygg invited keyboardist, sound conceptualist, and composer Tore Ylwizaker into the collective, and together they devised a plan for The Blake album, an altogether far more adventurous endeavour than prior releases.

    What resulted was a seamless integration of electronic and industrial music, with elements of progressive metal and avant-garde rock, all fused with ambient passages while following Blake's plates as track indexes. Upon release, the album received widespread acclaim from critics within the rock, metal and alternative music press, being awarded Album of the Month in several high-profile magazines such as Terrorizer, Metal Hammer, and Rock Hard.

    The album notably includes guest vocal appearances from Darkthrone’s Fenriz, as well as Ihsahn & Samoth; most known for their work in Emperor.

    This newly remastered edition of ‘The Marriage of Heaven & Hell’ is presented on double gatefold coloured red and white vinyl, including full lyrics/text, plus a new article from writer and journalist Jeff Wagner on the background, nature & triumph of such an ambitious release.

    Side A
    1. The Argument, Plate 2 (04:02)
    2. Plate 3 (02:48)
    3. Plate 3, Following (01:33)
    4. The Voice Of The Devil, Plate 4 (02:49)
    5. Plates 5-6 (02:31)
    6. A Memorable Fancy, Plates 6-7 (04:26)

    Side B
    1. Proverbs Of Hell, Plates 7-10 (09:04)
    2. Plate 11 (02:01)
    3. Intro (03:26)
    4. A Memorable Fancy, Plates 12-13 (05:55)

    Side C
    1. Plate 14 (02:08)
    2. A Memorable Fancy, Plate 15 (04:51)
    3. Plates 16-17 (03:17)
    4. A Memorable Fancy, Plates 17-20 (11:23)

    Side D
    1. Intro (02:27)
    2. Plates 21-22 (03:11)
    3. A Memorable Fancy, Plates 22-24 (04:50)
    4. Intro (03:59)
    5. A Song Of Liberty, Plates 25-27 / Chorus Vocals (06:16)

  • Additional Information

    Band Ulver
    Title Themes From William Blake's The Marriage of Heaven and Hell
    Label Peaceville Records
    Generic musical style Post Metal / Post Rock
    Detailed musical style Experimental Electro Metal
    Bar code 0801056891815
    Catalog # VILELP918
    Release Date 3 Dec 2021
    Color Multicolour
Subscribe to our newsletter
and get a 5€ discount*!
Be the first to receive offers from our store.
*Min coupon order value: €20

Please save your coupon now, you will not receive it by email!