Botanist - I: The Suicide Tree / II: A Rose From The Dead - DOUBLE LP GATEFOLD COLOURED

Botanist - I: The Suicide Tree / II: A Rose From The Dead - DOUBLE LP GATEFOLD COLOURED

More Views

Availability : In stock

Baby Blue and Mint Double Vinyl Limited to 500 Copies
  • Description

    BOTANIST are different. When composer, lyricist, vocalist, and multi-instrumentalist Otrebor created the San Francisco based band in 2009, he already had a specific lyrical concept in mind that has persisted to permeate all releases until and including today.

    The songs of this project are told from the perspective of a protagonist called "The Botanist", who is characterised as a crazed man of science that lives in self-imposed exile, as far away from Humanity and its crimes against Nature as possible.

    In his sanctuary of fantasy and wonder, which he calls "The Verdant Realm", "The Botanist" surrounds himself with plants and flowers to find solace in the company of the Natural world, while he envisions the destruction of mankind. BOTANIST's lyrics are equally informed by scientific nomenclature as they are inspired by Romantic-era poetry, art, and philosophy.

    BOTANIST are different also in musical terms. In a striking departure from traditional metal instrumentation, Otrebor uses distorted hammered dulcimers instead of guitars. This also makes BOTANIST the first band to adapt magnetic pickups to hammered dulcimer, and perform on stage.

    Stylistically, the Americans pay tribute to the mentality of some of the pioneering Scandinavian black metal bands' connection to nature, before spinning the dark yarn into new sonic and emotional fabrics. To BOTANIST, the black metal trope about misanthropy and of being alone in the forest is in fact about the woods and its floral inhabitants themselves.

    Each named plant becomes its own character in the ever growing pantheon of the project's "green metal" discography. BOTANIST sprouted from the seed of their debut double-album "I: The Suicide Tree / II: A Rose from the Dead" (2011) into a tripartite sapling with the addition of ""III: Doom in Bloom"" (2012).

    These albums are no being reissued on vinyl, while the CD version is a large-size hardcover artbook including all three albums, two bonus CDs and a DVD.

    I: The Suicide Tree
    1. Dragocephalum
    2. Invoke The Throne Of Velthemia
    3. Helleborus Niger
    4. Whorl
    5. Forgotten In Nepenthes
    6. Aldrovanda Ascendant
    7. Chaining The Catechin
    8. Dionaea Muscipula
    9. Clematopsis
    10. Rhododendoom
    11. Gorechid
    12. Cerbera Odollam
    13. Bromeliad
    14. Lepidoptera
    15. Euonymous In Darkness
    16. Dactylorhiza Elata
    17. Glycyrrhiza

    II: A Rose From The Dead
    1. Convolvulus Althaeoides
    2. Dioscoria
    3. Megaskepasma
    4. In The Hall Of Chamaerops
    5. Quercus Lamellosa
    6. Echinocereus
    7. Sparaxis Of Perdition
    8. Feast Of Saussurea
    9. Wings Of Antichrys
    10. Monstera's Lair
    11. Chiranthodendron
    12. Koeleria
    13. Sanguinaria
    14. Dodecatheon
    15. Summon Xanthostemon
    16. Asclepias Curassavica
    17. Strelitzia Reginae
    18. Trillium Recurvatum
    19. Cypripedum
    20. Nephrolepsis
    21. Abrus Precatorius
    22. A Rose From The Dead
    23. La Fin

  • Additional Information

    Band Botanist
    Title I: The Suicide Tree / II: A Rose From The Dead
    Label Prophecy Productions
    Generic musical style Black Metal
    Detailed musical style Avantgarde Black Metal
    Bar code 0884388866416
    Catalog # PRO347LPC1
    Release Date 9 Dec 2022
    Color Multicolour

We Also Recommend

Subscribe to our newsletter
and get a 5€ discount*!
Be the first to receive offers from our store.
*Min coupon order value: €20

Please save your coupon now, you will not receive it by email!