Heavy Load - Metal Conquest - CD DIGIPAK

Availability : In stock

Limited remastered reissue including 24p booklet and 4 bonus tracks.
  • Description


    Finally, the classic five song album "Metal Conquest" from 1981 is released in the form originally planned. At last, the sixth song is on the re-release. In addition, three bonus tracks are included on the accompanying CD.

    The re-release of "Metal Conquest" follows the tradition of the preceding re-releases of the Heavy Load catalogue. The booklet comes with the lyrics, a large number of authentic photos and the band members’ own words about each track. Moreover, the brothers reveal what is the origin of their songs’ and lyrics’ influence from the mythic Viking World.

    The song "For the Welfare of Man" was originally planned to be the sixth track on "Metal Conquest". Due to the band’s very limited studio time, and the brother’s dire finances back in the day, the sixth song ended up not being recorded. However, while listening to some demo tapes, damaged in the great flood of the brother’s own studio in January 2001, the brothers was very surprised to hear a demo version of the song made by them in the mid-eighties. After time-consuming restoration and mixing in the brothers’ new studio, the song has now taken its place on the vinyl – more than forty years later. Now the album is a six-shooter as originally planned.

    Heavy Load was established in Stockholm during the grim winter of 1974-1975 by the two brothers Ragne Wahlquist (vocals, guitars and keyboards) and Styrbjörn Wahlquist (vocals and drums). The vision and the passion of the Wahlquist brothers was always the kernel of the band’s audacious drive; its drive to venture out on musical journeys and to spread their music to the world.

    The Viking heritage has been an important source of inspiration ever since their childhood. The brothers’ emotional connection to people of a remote past, people with whom they share everlasting human challenges, was destined to find an outlet in their music. As a consequence, the brothers merged 70s Hard Rock with Viking settings and sentiments, resulting in the band’s distinctive style of music and lyrics: Viking Metal – a style which came to inspire later bands in Sweden and elsewhere.

    1. You’ve Got The Power
    2. Dark Nights
    3. Heavy Metal Heaven
    4. Hey
    5. Heathens From The North
    Bonus tracks:
    6. For The Welfare Of Man*
    7. Joe Stiletto*
    8. Give It Time*
    9. Hedningar Från Norr*
    (*previously unreleased)

  • Additional Information

    Band Heavy Load
    Title Metal Conquest
    Label No Remorse
    Generic musical style Heavy / Power / Symphonic
    Detailed musical style Heavy Viking Metal
    Bar code 0723803978856
    Catalog # TCD81122
    Release Date 9 Apr 2024
Subscribe to our newsletter
and get a 5€ discount*!
Be the first to receive offers from our store.
*Min coupon order value: €20

Please save your coupon now, you will not receive it by email!